Skip to content

Review: “Made from Scratch” by Jenna Woginrich

January 11, 2009

If there’s anyone out there who’s ever considered learning some homesteading skills but didn’t know where to start, I have a book for you.

Made from Scratch by Jenna Woginrich hit bookstores at the end of 2008.  Part memoir, part empowering how-to guide, the book is truly an inspiration and a guide for anyone who wants to grow their own food, raise chickens, keep bees, spin wool, sew clothes, or just appreciate the simple things in life.

I read Made from Scratch in the fall as a galley.  So far Jenna has me spinning on a drop spindle and baking my own bread, with more to come with spring (a container garden!).  And someday, when I don’t live in an urban apartment building anymore, I hope to use the courage Made from Scratch has given me to start up my own flock of chickens!

For more about the book, check out the post I did for my store to advertise Jenna’s signing later this month.  And if you’re in the Albany area, come to the signing!  There may also be reading and music.  Definitely worth the trip!

One Comment
  1. Rebecca permalink
    January 18, 2009 8:34 pm

    Wow. I am not even interested in spinning my own wool or growing my own garden, yet I am compelled to at least pick up this book and look through it. It is such a different kind of book and it sounds like it would have interesting tips in it. You know a review is good if it makes someone be interested in something they weren’t before reading the review!

Comments are closed.

